FRC Innovation Award

Innovation award graphic

FRC Innovation Award

The Forensic Research Committee of the American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors is proud to announce the ASCLD FRC Innovation Award.  The award recognizes innovative research studies that have been submitted to the FRC Collaboration Hub within the last two years that have or will result in new technologies, protocols, or tools that impact the forensic science laboratory. The FRC Collaboration Hub connects members of the Forensic Science Community to come together to address research needs and drive the future development of forensic science.

The winner will be recognized at the ASCLD Annual Symposium and will receive an award plaque highlighting their contribution to advancing forensic science.

Past Winners:

2023 FRC Innovation Award: Christopher Ehrhardt, Virginia Commonwealth University, Department of Forensic Sciences for “Novel Method for Determining Time Since Deposition for Trace DNA Samples”

2021 FRC Innovation Award: Linda Eisenhart, Joseph Stephens, Jocelyn V. Abonamah, Colbey Ryman, Paige Riley, Nirmeen Salah, and Brian Eckenrode of the FBI Laboratory for their project, “A Method for Generating and Harnessing Objective Data for Standardized Trash Mark Examinations.”

 2020 FRC Innovation Award: Ashley K. Burns, Maryland State Police, Forensic Sciences Division for “Managing the Opioid Epidemic in CDS Laboratories using TD-DART-MS”

Sign up for FRC Updates through ASCLD Social Media on LinkedIn