Briggs-White Award

Briggs White, former Director of the FBI laboratory, made it possible to bring forensic science laboratories together, helping to solidify the ASCLD organization. The Briggs White Award was established in his honor.

All ASCLD members are welcome to nominate present or past ASCLD members for this annual award. The nomination form asks for detailed information concerning the nominee's career, publications, professional memberships, and contributions to forensic science (especially regarding management aspects).

The successful nominee is recognized during the annual symposium, where he/she receives a plaque. The name of the annual recipient is added to the actual award, which is traditionally kept on display at the ASCLD office, but may be distributed to the honoree to display at their facility for the next year.

To nominate someone for the Briggs White award, complete the application below and mail or email the completed application to the ASCLD office.

Briggs White Nomination Form


ASCLD awards scholarships to undergraduate and graduate students in forensic science on an annual basis as approved by the Board of Directors. Scholarships are generally awarded in the amount of $1,000; however, the number and dollar amount of scholarships will be determined annually after the availability of funds is determined.

At least three ASCLD members who are not affiliated with institutions from which students are applying will evaluate the pool of applicants. The subcommittee's recommendation will be presented to the Board of Directors for approval.


Applicants must be a junior or senior in a baccalaureate program or a graduate student (masters or doctorate) at an accredited university who is pursuing a degree in forensic science, forensic chemistry, a physical or natural science. Applicants from FEPAC accredited programs will be given additional consideration. High school students or college/university students in their freshman or sophomore years will not be eligible for application. As the scholarship program was created to provide opportunity to students intending to enter the forensic field, scholarships will not be granted to current forensic science laboratory employees pursuing graduate degrees.

Scholarship application submission deadline: All application sections are due FEBRUARY 15

Applications are reviewed and ranked according to the following criteria:

  • Overall scholastic record
  • Scholastic record in forensic science coursework
  • Motivation or commitment to a forensic science career
  • Personal statement
  • Faculty/Academic advisor recommendation

To apply for an ASCLD scholarship, complete the form below and submit each section by the required deadline.

ASCLD Scholarship Application

Ed Rhodes Scholarship

ASCLD receives 1 complimentary sitting per calendar year for any American Board of Criminalistics, Inc. (ABC) examination. This scholarship is in memory of Edward Rhodes, who was a pioneer in forensic education and certification. The complimentary sitting is for either an ASCLD member or someone in a member’s organization. ABC examinations are hosted at the AAFS Annual Scientific Meeting, as well as other locations and times throughout the year. The Scholarship does not include the application fee or the costs associated with attending the AAFS meeting or traveling to the test site.


Applicant must meet the minimum requirements for taking the ABC exam and the application must be endorsed by a current ASCLD member. Applications are reviewed and ranked based on financial need and employer’s requirements. This application is for ASCLD only. The ABC application for the examination must be filled out separately.

Scholarship application submission deadline:

The application for any examination in the following year is due December 31.

Ed Rhodes Scholarship Application

Innovation Award

The goal of the Forensic Research Committee Innovation Award is to recognize activities highlighting new technologies, protocols, or tools that impact the operational forensic science laboratory. The award is open to scientists from all disciplines in operational U.S. forensic laboratories (Bio/DNA, drug chemistry, toxicology, fingerprints, questioned documents, trace/microscopy, firearms/toolmarks, other) who have performed the highlighted work in the past two years.

The winners of the 2021 FRC Innovation Award are Linda Eisenhart, Joseph Stephens, Jocelyn V. Abonamah, Colbey Ryman, Paige Riley, Nirmeen Salah, and Brian Eckenrode of the FBI Laboratory for their project, "A Method for Generating and Harnessing Objective Data for Standardized Trash Mark Examinations."

LEAP Collaboration Award

The goal of the Forensic Research Committee LEAP Collaboration Award is to recognize an outstanding partnership between LEAP participating academic and operational forensic laboratories. The award is open to scientists from all disciplines such as Bio/DNA, drug chemistry, toxicology, fingerprints, questioned documents, trace/microscopy, firearms/toolmarks, and digital/multimedia sciences in LEAP participating operational and academic forensic laboratories.

The winners of the 2022 FRC LEAP Collaboration Award are NYSP Crime Laboratory System & University of Illinois at Chicago for the project, "Wild and Domesticated Touch DNA."

Previous Award Winners:

2021: John Jay College of Criminal Justice and the New York Police Department for the project, "Non-destructive DNA recovery from handwritten documents using a dry vacuum technique."

Outstanding Evaluation / Validation Award

The goal of the Forensic Research Committee Evaluation/Validation Award is to recognize an outstanding evaluation/validation study that has been submitted to the FRC Validation and Evaluation Repository. The award is open to scientists from all disciplines (bio/DNA, drug chemistry, toxicology, fingerprints, questioned documents, trace/microscopy, firearms/toolmarks, other) in operational forensic labs or research laboratories.

The winner of the 2022 FRC LEAP Collaboration Award is Szabolcs Sofalvi of the Cuyahoga County Medical Examiner's Office for the project, "Development of Quadratic External Calibration Models using EZSTATSG2."

Previous Award Winners:

2021: L. Admire, North Carolina State Laboratory, "Implementing Hematoxylin into Casework at the North Carolina State Crime Laboratory."

Nominate someone for a 2023 FRC Award!
Check out the information below and nominate a deserving individual or organization to be recognized for their contributions. Submission deadline is extended to March 3, 2023.

Member of the Year

ASCLD Member of the Year Award recognizes members who have embodied the ASCLD Mission, have participated substantively in ASCLD activities, or have contributed to an ASCLD project or committee. Please consider taking time to nominate one of the many members we have who have made it possible for ASCLD to make a difference in our industry.

The nominations will be scored based on the member’s involvement with ASCLD activities, the member’s external representation of ASCLD initiatives, and the member’s overall impact to the Forensic Science profession for the year. From the nominations received, one member is recognized at the Annual Symposium Awards Banquet.

Nominations are due by February 1.

Member of the Year Nomination